ADRENALINE RUSH / SECOND STRIKE – Interview with Tave

Adrenaline Rush on entertaim.net

SOLE SURVIVORS from Sweden … Adrenaline Rush are striking back for the second time. An awesome second album and a suitcase full of Rock’n’Roll. We talked to stunning singer Tave Wanning about new plans, the new album and new tour plans …

Interview: Dennis Rowehl / Pic by courtesy of Adrenaline Rush (c) by Marten Wanning

entertaim.net: Hi Tave, how are you doing? You just released the 2nd album „Sole Survivor“ Congratulations! How does it feel?

Tave: Thank you. We’re all good, and super excited about the new album of course. 12 brand new songs that I think show a definite growth and a step forward for us. We’re expanding our boundaries musically, it’s something that happened naturally from getting older, changing line-up and changing the people involved in the creative process. Compared to the first album, this one is still in the melodic/aor realm but harder and the music a bit more complex if you will. But it’s still got an 80’s flavor, at least to my ears. The production is not as clean as on the first album, but it is perfect for the sound I wanted.

entertaim.net: The new album is definitely a little more elaborated 🙂 How was the feedback so far?

Tave: The reviews have been mostly good. Some people still don’t know what to make of us though; it seems they get confused by having a girl sing clean vocals over heavier music. They want me to sing more like a screamer or more opera like but they’re missing the point. I like to sing the way I do and I like the fact that it gives us an identity. I don’t want to sound or look like anyone else. Not to take anything away from other styles, I respect each and every one, but it’s just not for me. I am what I am and what you see is what you get. Love it or leave it. I love the girl bands of the 80’s like Femme Fatale, Heart, Lee Aaron, Robin Beck and so on and that is where I take my cues. All good, clean singers. I listen to a lot of other styles too, like soul, blues, heavy metal and even modern dance. I really love 70’s rock like The Faces, Stones, Zeppelin, Fleetwood Mac and also Southern rock like Lynyrd Skynyrd.

entertaim.net: You already released the first video „Love like poison“ …. how much fun is it doing videos?

Tave: I love the creative process, be it music, drawing, making clothes, taking photos or whatever. It’s pretty much all just different aspects of the same thing really. When we set out to make a video for this album all I knew was I wanted it to be different from the first. And we had almost zero budget. So we decided to go ahead and basically do 5 or 6 takes of the band in front of a white wall. All organic and nothing preplanned, we just set the drums up and hit “play” on the music and went for it. 2 cameras is what we had to shoot with. Pretty scary concept, because there is absolutely nowhere to hide and all the focus is on your performance. We were worried it wouldn’t work but the editing guys did a great job and I’m really happy with the way it turned out.

entertaim.net: Do you have some more videos in progress? Can you tell us more about it?

Tave: Nothing right now. I would love to do another one though, so we’ll see what happens.

entertaim.net: What about live shows. I’m sure you will also play some festivals, right?

Tave: Playing live is really the reason I do this. It is what I love. But it is also the most frustrating part because it is so hard to find gigs that are financially viable. We usually end up losing money on gigs, like probably every other band at this level. So it is a constant struggle. We’d play everywhere, all the time, if we could just make ends meet. But things being what they are we have to continue playing the gigs we can afford and slowly try to build a following so the money gets better and as a consequence more gigs become possible. It’s a long process, but I’m sure we’ll get there eventually.

entertaim.net: Do you plan an entire tour …. and what’s really interesting for our German readership …. will you come over to Germany? I really hope so 🙂

Tave: We don’t have a proper tour planned. But what we will do is try and set up short trips to different countries and do 2 or 3 gigs over an extended weekend. Germany is definitely in our sights but nothing planned yet. We’re still looking for a good agent/promotor to help us find venues to play. If you know anyone please let me know, just send an email or PM on Facebook!

entertaim.net: What’s the next step for Adrenaline Rush?

Tave: I’m going to spend June in LA to try and meet people and see if there’s anything we can do over there. When I get back to Sweden I hope we can do a few gigs.

entertaim.net: Thank you very much!

Tave: Thank you so much for having me. And a big thanks to all of your readers too, we wouldn’t be able to do what we do without their support! Have fun, see you out there and ENJOY THE ‘RUSH!

