HOLLYWOOD UNDEAD / Pussy Music, the uptight USA, the culture change and clear statements

Hollywood Undead at entertaim.net

Pussy Music, the uptight USA, the culture change and why Europe is a great place for musicians who love to party. Right before the show in Cologne I met Hollywood Undead Johnny 3 Tears talking bout the band, success, why metal seems to die in America and the Rock’n’Roll lifestyle.

Interview by Dennis Rowehl, pic by courtesy of Black Mob.

entertaim.net: Hi and welcome to Germany. You’re lucky, it’s sunny and warm for November (laughing)

Johnny 3 Tears: It is! We’ve been in Russia once, that was damn cold!

entertaim.net: You’re huge in the USA, how are things going in Germany?

Johnny 3 Tears: We’ve been a couple of times right here and played all the big festivals like Rock am Ring, Rock im Park and we’re coming back next year for these festivals again. Right now the tour is sold out, every show in Germany is sold out. So I think we’re doing something right. Next we’re coming over in arenas with 5000 …

entertaim.net: Next year you’ll also play in France at the HellFest with bands like Slipknot … sounds like fun …

Johnny 3 Tears: Yeah … we know the guys and they are pretty cool … so yeah, it’s gonna be fun!

entertaim.net: Right from the beginning there was a comparison between Hollywood Undead and Hip Hop-Metal Crossover Bands like Linkin Park and Crazy Town. I mean you’re still there and still growing … Crazy Town is history. What do you think about this kind of comparison?

Johnny 3 Tears: I think we’re better than all those bands by far, that’s my opinion. You know, we write music that lasts. I don’t see the comparison, honestly. I think we’re just a Rock band. We’re from L.A., so of course we’ve got these influences. Don’t get me wrong, I like Linkin‘ Park but people like to categorize music but we don’t fit in these categories, we just do what we like … it doesn’t matter if it’s Rock or Rap as long as the songs are good. That’s the only thing that matters.

entertaim.net: I heard that Metal in the US gets weaker. It’s still a strong market in Europe, especially in Germany but America must me different meanwhile. I ask cause you guys play Metal festivals in Europe …

Johnny 3 Tears: I think Metal is done …

entertaim.net: Seriously?

Johnny 3 Tears: Not the music but the people! Cause the Metalheads I know personally are pussies (laughing) …

entertaim.net: (laughing)

Johnny 3 Tears: Back in the 80s it was different …. Metallica and stuff, this was something, but in America the Metalheads are pansies … and the other part (of the old school Metalheads) is getting older …

entertaim.net: … and the young people are pussies (laughing) …

Johnny 3 Tears: You know it’s a change in culture that nobody drings or take drugs … I mean I don’t wanna say that this is good but the culture changed and everybody is so conservative and this kind of music lost its place. In the (80s and 90s it was normal that bands drink and take drugs and stuff …the Rock’n’Roll died out .. this lifestyle. Right now if you’re in a band and you drink it’s like „Uuuuuhhhh!“ That’s why I think Metal in Amerika is dying.

entertaim.net: What about you guys … are you also conservative when you’re on tour … or do you make party! I need to hear about some gossip stuff (laughing).

Johnny 3 Tears: We like to party! We drink too much …. (laughing)

entertaim.net: Thank God (laughing). So many bands tell me that while touring they have a strict diet and have to concentrate upon the show … go to bed early …

Johnny 3 Tears: Well, we want to have fun … but we don’t go too far. The reason why … fans spend their money to see us, you have to give them what they want … you have to give something back and need to give 100%. If I denied this I’d be selfish. You have to be aware that the kids pay to see something and we have to give them what they want to see.

entertaim.net: How was Russia? Lots of vodka?

Johnny 3 Tears: (laughing) In Europe drinking is more excessive! It’s more part of the culture … I like this! (laughing) … even in the streets, that’s awesome! We’ve been in Germany for Christmas and I drank lots of Glühwein, I was totally drunk (laughing) … good stuff! The culture in the US has changed, even the music, it’s more and more Pop-driven like EDM … Pop, the musical culures and the radio suck. I grew up with KORN, Rage against the Machine … if you listen to the same radio stations right now it’s more like folk music with banjo, it’s not Rock anymore, so I don’t listen to the radio anymore. America is very uptight!

entertaim.net: You release your 4th album, the chart positions have been very good … how hard is it to deal with higher expectations?

Johnny 3 Tears: We try harder! We see what happens but I’m not concerned. Numer 2, number 1, numbers are numbers. Numbers don’t say anything these days … someone buys the album, 10 steal the album … but nevertheless hopefully we’ll be Number 1. It’s not like the 80s that you sell millions of millions, buy a big mansion and a Lambourghini (laughing). I’ve got an appartment … and a Honda (laughing). I’m glad that I can play music and live  by making music, so I’m not complaining and we’re still growing. That’s cool! And people like what we’re doing!

entertaim.net: Johnny, nice talking to you …. good luck for the future and maybe you’ll get a Ferrari soon.

Johnny 3 Tears: (laughing) Thanks, man. See you next time …