COMA / Made in Poland

Superstars in Poland. COMA from Lodz, Poland, are ready to conquer a bigger market with the new album „Don’t set the dogs on me“. We talked to vocalist Piotr Rogucki about Edel, Belarus, Doda and the plans, by Dennis Rowehl / pic by courtesy of Oktober Promotion and Edel.

https://entertaimnet.wordpress.com/2013/01/30/coma-dont-set-your-dogs-on-me-ear-musicedel-anfang-februar/

COMA (from Poland) on entertaim.net

entertaim.net: Awesome new album! Congratulations. You’ve released lots of albums but now you’ve got a deal with Edel … how did you get this deal which is certainly very useful to reach a bigger international market?

Thanks for the compliments. To be precise we’ve released four studio albums plus two English versions plus two live albums including one with the symphonic orchestra. In Poland we are musicians contracted with the independent label Mystic Production. The founder of Mystic, Michał Wardzała, is our friend, he was making effort to find an international label for us. It was a long but successful way to convince Edel. And now I believe it is easier to realize our goals in Europe, Edel means a wider access to listeners but even this is not as easy as it sounds.

entertaim.net: You play many shows in Poland and some in the UK. What about Germany and some festivals for 2013? Are there any shows already booked or in progress?

Not yet. We are in a process of creating a European tour during the summer and autumn. We hope to play some festivals and later about twenty gigs in clubs.

entertaim.net: Poland is located right between the Western world and Belarus, a country with a dictatorial regime …  does political engagement plays a role in the hearts and thoughts of the youth in Poland?

Not at all! I don’t care what is going on in the politics, when I meet a person, I see the person with their own personality and, as far as I’m concerned, politics does only harm to people’s relations. I know that many people in Poland think the same, they are much more open minded than politicians. I know some people from Belarus and they are really ambitious and have free minds, so I don’t think that they are under pressure of the political situation that much. Of course there are always some extreme examples of fanatic behavior but this is just a crime and not the society.

entertaim.net: Have you ever played shows in Belarus?

Not yet … unfortunately. But we hope to play when there is a chance. I’ve heard that they have really emotionally reacting fans of Rock music, we love this kind of audience because our music is deeply emotional as well.

entertaim.net: What’s the song „Moscow“ about?

It is a song about searching for the lost time. Maybe it is hidden in the changing time zones when you fly west. I wrote this song for my friend, she asked me to describe this feeling of something lost when we were waiting for boarding in St.Petersburg’s airport.

entertaim.net: That’s it? Anyway … you supported bands like Pearl Jam and Tool, bands which certainly influenced you in some ways … would you like to play an international tour with those bands? With an international label this might be possible?!

Our main reason to exist is playing concerts. Now we are making effort to plan a tour with a famous headliner, maybe not Pearl Jam or Tool, these bands are too big for us, but we want to play as a supporting group cause this is the best way to engage the new audience and as I mentioned this is the purpose for our lives.

entertaim.net: You released some albums in Polish, the new one „Don’t set your dogs on me“ was written in English. How did the old school fans react on this change?

The reaction of some our Polish fans was unexpectedly adverse. Quite many of their opinions are reluctant or even  aggressive. They don’t want us to sing in English. And I don’t know why … somehow I find it really stimulating. I feel as if I’m risking everything playing against the attitude of the crowd. I know this feeling from experience, it is quite frightening. We expect to engage more listeners behind our native soil, so we should communicate in English, it’s obvious.

entertaim.net: The first musical Polish acts I know have been O.N.A. and Doda. Do you like Doda?

When O.N.A. played I was a big fan of this band, but DODA is a different story, this is Pop music and it is not my cup of tea.

