Michael „Menace“ Weeden / The future of music

INTERVIEW WITH MICHAEL WEEDEN aka MENACE aka Zane Michaels

Michael Menace Weeden on entertaim.net

Menace, famous musician and producer born in Detroit has been in the music business for a very long tim and already collaborated with huge names such as with Corrine Bailey Rae, Madonna, Whitney Houston, Prince, LaToya Jackson, Nea Callard, Mara Sanchez, Natalia Kills, Billy Joel and many more. entertaim.net got the chance to talk to him about current projects Select, Cupids Bow and the future of music.

Interview: Dennis Rowehl / Pics by courtesy of Menace and Select

entertaim.net: You have even worked with so many great stars. Now I heard your cooperating with a Slovenian pop group named SELECT. Can you tell us more about it?

Menace: I worked with a couple of Slovenian artists but most certainly without a doubt, SELECT was by far my most proud of and most successful project in this small but beautiful country. Select were ahead of their time in the Slovenian dance market scene. By bringing me over and fusing real American R & B music with Slovenian Pop Dance music created a different sound that Slovenian radio hadn’t heard before. No Slovenian pop artist that I have worked with has influenced me more than Select.

entertaim.net: You have a new project now, a new album, right?

Menace: Wow! It’s really something!  My new band Cupids Bow has a debut album entitled ‚Wake The Love Up!‘ It has seemed to cause a bit of controversy on this side of the pond. However, the early reviews have been great! We made this album for our youth to spread our message of love and peace with our heavy funk soul beats!

entertaim.net: You have been touring a lot in your career. Where?

Menace: Just the other day I was asked this same question. So let’s make this easy and stick to countries. So many cities that I have forgotten a lot (laughing) Germany, Holland, Spain, France, Italy, Slovenia, United Kingdom, Ireland, China, Indonesia, Japan, Canada and Singapore.
 
entertaim.net: What kind of music do you prefer as an artist and as an producer?

Menace: Great question! As an artist I enjoy playing Rock and Afro Punk Funk. As a producer I enjoy producing every genre of music possible. I love to produce different and unique artists . Artists with open minds and willing to explore experimenting with concepts.

entertaim.net: You also play guitar. Are you keen of some other instrument?

Menace: Unfortunately not! Enough keyboards to compose. A bit of drums. And as for the guitar, I can barely play that! As I stated many times elsewhere in interviews, I refer to myself as a frustrated visionary painter who gave up on conventional paints and now uses air as my canvas. The sounds, melodies, harmonies and vibrations are my paints.

entertaim.net: Any artists that you would like to work with on future projects?

Menace: YES! I’m working on a few potential projects. At the moment I’m working with bassist Colin Murray and lead vocalist Tadjamoor in New York. These two are going to blow up real soon! But, I must tell you that there are a few artists in Slovenian that I would to love work with … Alya, Karmen, Trkai, Neisha and Lara B. just to name a few.

entertaim.net: Let’s get back to your new group Cupids Bow and debut album Wake The Love Up! What’s your favorite track and why?

Menace: Well, they all are like my little newborns … Bbt if I had to choose one it would be track 8, OML. This song is my personal daily testimony to the world about my love for Jesus! How thankful I am for his love for us.

entertaim.net: Where do you see the future of music leading to?

Menace: Well, everything goes at the moment. As well,what goes around comes back around! US TV commercials seem to use allot of older songs in their ads. Music from the 60’s and 70’s still represent as being the best music. Also the bands that made the music.

entertaim.net: So, what artists of today’s music do you think will be playing on the radio stations 10 or 20 years from now?

Menace: Good question! I don’t think many. There just doesn’t seem to be any classic songs. To me, there just hasn’t been any mind changing bands since that period we discussed earlier. It’s like your great grand kids will someday hear Stairway To Heaven as a new song as to a old classic. Hey, here’s a thought …. maybe they will be playing PSY on the radio 10 years from now. NOT!

entertaim.net: Any last words?

Menace: Well, I hope these aren’t my last words. But I want to leave everyone reading this to know that life is beautiful. We have more control than we are led to believe. We must use that control with the balance of Zen. Keep your faith strong. Never give up! Believe in yourself!

entertaim.net: Thank you.

Menace: You’re welcome …

Menace Weeden and Select on entertaim.net

