How to make a movie: CAPRIKORN / Interview with screenwriter Michael Bird

Lars Vegas / Caprikorn szene

(Pic: Lars Vegas, Brian Bauza)

It started with MIAMIAN RHAPSODY, the story about Lars Vegas, a crazy, nearly normal and regular guy from a small village in Germany called Ocholt who did a video to a really weird party song named „WANNA BIRD“ in Miami … but now the whole story developed into a dynamic reality movie show and Lars Vegas started to produce the first NO-BUDGET-Movie ever … with lots of expensive equipment that magazines, newspapers and even TV stations doing reports about the curious guy from Germany. But of course every movie needs a good story and after some research we contacted screenwriter „Michael Bird“ to give us some info about all sides of the whole storybehind the movie … and CAPRIKORN is turning into a real weird and exciting running story that entertaim.net will frequently report about all gossip, stories, rumors and background details regarding Caprikorn because this whole think can be a really huge thing and we’re not gonna miss a real story!

Interview: Martin Hannig / Pics by courtesy of Lars Vegas for the motion picture Caprikorn

entertaim.net: Michael Bird … is this your real name?

Michael Bird: Are you kidding? (laughing) Of course it’s my name as a ghostwriter. Honestly, just take a look at Shakespeare. Who wants to read „Romeo and Juliet“ by Francis Bacon? Real artists do have synonyms … if this movie really sucks … I’ll be fine out, so … (laughing)

entertaim.net: Will this movie suck?

Michael Bird: Honestly … NO ! I mean, it depends on what you expect … if you expect a billion dollar production by Roland Emmerich or … how was his name … oh yeah … Spielberg … yeah … Caprikorn will not be what you expect. It’s an independent movie, you should never forget this .. but great ideas are not made by mainsteam. By the way … Spielberg’s best movie ever was his debut! Mainstream is entertaining, but not inspiring neither provoking.

entertaim.net: So, who’s the producer of CAPRIKORN?

Michael Bird: 80% Lars Vegas, 20% will be done in Germany. I’m the co-prroducer and the one who’s writing the story … and the script .. but this is the hardest part.

entertaim.net: Why?

Michael Bird: Well, usually, you start with the story, then the script, the storyboard etc. … I wrote the story but I’m not able to write the whole script because the situation is changing every day … believe me … nothing is predictable. It’s a No-Budget-movie. This means every actor is doing the job because it’s fun, this means, if any actor has something „better“ to do he or she will not show up in time … if these actors have a contract … you’ll kick them out … but this production is totally different …

entertaim.net: So, you’re not in Miami?

Michael Bird: Unfortunately not. I’m writing sequences and send them over to Lars … but … please let me go on … one time I wrote a sequence but the 2 women who supposed to show up never arrived at the film set. … but a different girl, so Lars filmed her in the same story … so, I gotta change the script. Then … one day he called me that he’s in Costa Rica and he’s just filming … okay … why Costa Rica … I didn’t have this in mind but I had to change the script …. again … all over again. Sometimes the actors change … whatever! Don’t get me wrong. I don’t complain, but it’s impossible to write the whole script at once because the whole story is so dynamic. Sometimes, when I skype with Lars, I’m not sure if I talk to Lars himself or to the actor or even anybody else. Sometimes it’s really surreal and this is what the movie’s about … fiction and reality will be one … in a really strange way …. I wrote the whole story and the story itself will remain the same but the movie is changing every day into a weird thing! Believe me … I cannot tell you when we will be able to finish the whole project but it will be really, really strange … and unseen. Psychedelic in a way!

entertaim.net: I watched the 1st trailer …

Michael Bird: … forget about this one … the basics fit but the movie the way it developed did not have anything to do with the current movie except the actresses and actors … and Miami.

entertaim.net: You told us that 20% will be produced in Germany?

Michael Bird: That’s another aspect why the result will be unpredictable. Different people with different equipment produce this movie with their own sights of things and art that the whole project will get a certain touch of individualism and contingence. I don’t think that I’ve ever seen a movie that’s been filmed that way ….

entertaim.net: So, Lars Vegas is one of the producers and also actor?

Michael Bird: Right, I guess he didn’t expect this while he was doing the video for „Wanna Bird“. Meanwhile he woke up the interest for TV stations in Germany. That’s amazing!

entertaim.net: How are you gonna make money with this?

Michael Bird: Honestly, I don’t have a clue (laughing). Okay, I have a 50% clue but who knows or maybe I’m not even sure, whatever! For me personally, it’s a question of art! It started as a fun project but right now it’s passion … passion to create something really different and new. For me, personally, it’s all about art … and about bringing this project to a successful finale … success doesn’t mean money in the first case but RECOGNITION for creating something UNSEEN! Of course we’ll offer this movie,  mean we’ll invest a lot … money and time … and nobody rides for free!

entertaim.net: Is Lars a chaotic personality?

Michael Bird: To be chaotic includes not to have no plan or clue … so, definitely: NO! Sometimes life just depends on circumstances. He’s the motor and willing to realize the whole movie project and I really respect this!

entertaim.net: Let’s get to the name „CAPRIKORN“ …

Michael Bird: The name „Caprikorn“ was my idea. I don’t want to tell so much details but this title fits like a glove (laughing) … it‘ ambivalent and introduces the people who’ll ever watch this movie to the century of Caprikorn … from the Christian century of the Fish to the Age of Aquarius to the Age of Caprikorn … so the movie must include something really special and I’m spellbound of the idea of creating somehing new and fucking awesome!

entertaim.net: When will you release the next trailer?

Michael Bird: As soon as possible!

entertaim.net: Thank you … but … this is weird!

Michael Bird: (lauging) I hope so! See you soon!

(Lars Vegas, Alexia Fonseca, Herbert Hofer)

Lars Vegas and Herbert Hofer at the Caprikorn - Set on entertaim.net

