Geoff Tate / Heading to the future with a new Queensryche

Geoff Tate

The official split of Queensryche shocked fans all over the world and devided some of them. For outstanding people the whole QR-family-business-affairs are definitely to complex to understand and to take party, so no wonder that Geoff Tate doesn’t want to talk about all that: „The statements of both sides are clear.“ Nevertheless news circulating in the internet about who’s Queensryche right now and who’s not still confuse the devided fanbase, so I called Geoff to see something more clear and talk about his solo project, politics, the future and about some private things.

New Queensryche Line-up: Rudy Sarzo, Bobby Blotzer, Glen Drover, Kelly Gray and Randy Gane

Interview: Dennis Rowehl

Photo: Stephanie Cabral

entertaim.net: Hello Geoff, since the split … have you talked to the „old guys“ yet?

Geoff Tate: No, I haven’t talk to them since April.

entertaim.net: To make something clear. You’ve just released your second solo album „Kings and thieves“ and you’re on tour. Besides the new Queensryche line-up with you, Bobby Blotzer, Rudy Sarzo etc. has been introduced on the official band site queensryche.com and on the official facebook-site of Queensryche. The band you’re on tour with right now is different from the new Queensryche, right?

Geoff Tate: That’s right. I’m on tour to promote my solo album till the end of this year and starting April we’ll be on tour with Queensryche with the new line-up. It’s an anniversary tour for the „Operation Mindcrime“-album that we’ll set the focus on playing tracks from this album. We’re already in the booking process.

entertaim.net: On your solo tour, what kind of songs do you perform?

Geoff Tate: It’s a 2 hour show and we play the solo songs and of course some of my Queensryche-faves.

entertaim.net: Your new album’s called „Kings and thieves“. Is there any connection in this title to the split …. kings … and thieves?

Geoff Tate: No, absolutely not. I always got this title in my mind and during the process of writing new material I always saw the words on my desk that I chose this title for my 2nd solo album. No connection to Queensryche.

entertaim.net: Just a couple of days ago America has got a new old President … is this good for the country?

Geoff Tate: Honestly, I’ve got no idea. I don’t care too much about politics and the struggle between Democrats and Republicans. I care more about society, social problems …

entertaim.net: Well, so many musicians – especially from the USA – told me in interviews that they don’t care about politics but isn’t this dangerous?

Geoff Tate: I guess it is. In the whole society there’s a desinterest in politics. I think people just feel helpless. Lots of people think that the individual vote doesn’t count.

entertaim.net: Shouldn’t artists and musicians wake up people to be more interested in politics and what the government is doing?

Geoff Tate: It’s difficult to stand up for the own opinion and even for the own believe cause of the strong public criticism. This is really hard, I mean you don’t have to be accepted by everybody but a political statement can devide your fans … so many bands are afraid of giving clear political statements. Rock music used to be rebellious at the beginning but the times have changed. This is sad. I don’t know that much musicians who care about politics. They concntrate upon their instruments and music.

entertaim.net: Okay, my sister is a big fan of you and she wants to know how and where you spend your holidays. Are you more the beach-type or someone who prefers going in the woods and enjoy the silence?

Geoff Tate: I love the heat. I prefer spending my time at warm places. So yes, I like beaches, joining intersting people etc. I like the Mediterranean area of Europe: Spain, South-France, Italy … there are lots of nice places.

entertaim.net: Alright. When you start the Queensryche-tour next April, will you come over to Germany?

Geoff Tate: We probably will.

entertaim.net: Geoff, good luck with both shows.

Geoff Tate: Thank you very much.

