ISSA Oversveen / Can’t stop

Interview with female AOR singer Issa Oversveen from Norway, by Dennis Rowehl.

Photo by courtesy of Frontiers Records

entertaim.net: Hi Issa, your new album „can’t stop“ is very powerful. I didn’t realize that it’s an album of cover songs by not that well known bands … so, whose idea was it to cover not famous songs?

Issa: Actually the record company came to me with this idea. I don’t want to cover famous songs because people mostly have pesonal associations, so I covered different songs.

entertaim.net: Isn’t it a bigger challenge and more fun to perform own songs instead of covering?

Issa: Of course but I’m working on my own songs at the moment, so with the album release of „Can’t stop“ I have more time concentrating upon my own songs. We’ve got a nice cooperation and after „Can’t stop“ I’m going to release a new album with my own songs … I guess next year.

entertaim.net: Do you have plans for shows in Germany?

Issa: Sure but I don’t want to tell you before these shows are announced. I guess I’ll play on some festivals. I want to play as much as I can … we’ll see (laughing).

entertaim.net: You’re from Norway which is famous for Death and Black Metal bands. Do you like this kind of music?

Issa: Ähhhhhh, mmhhh, not really (laughing). Well, Norway is huge in Metal. I know many bands personally like Circus Maximus and I really like melodic stuff!

entertaim.net: Do you have some current fave bands?

Issa: I just played on a festival with so amazing bands. I really like Danger Danger. They are awesome!

entertaim.net: Maybe you can convince Frontiers to send you on tour with Danger Danger and possibly with Mr. Big as the headliner. They are still pretty huge in Germany.

Issa: Yeah, I’d really love to …

entertaim.net: Do you have a final statement right now?

Issa: I’d like to thank everyone who supported me. And hope to see my fans on tour.

